2006 – We Are Marshall

Directed by: McG
Written by: Jamie Linden
Produced by: Basil Iwanyk, McG
Production year: 2006
Original release: December 22, 2006
Running time: 2 hours, 11 minutes
Other cast: Matthew McConaughey, Matthew Fox, David Strathairn
Misc: IMDB | Amazon | iTunes

In 1970, Marshall University and the small town of Huntington, W.Va., reel when a plane crash claims the lives of 75 of the school’s football players, staff members and boosters. New coach Jack Lengyel (Matthew McConaughey) arrives on the scene in March 1971, determined to rebuild Marshall’s Thundering Herd and heal a grieving community in the process.